The Amarillo Bulls: 2010-2021


From the time they moved to the Texas Panhandle in 2010 - from Albert Lea, Minnesota, less than 45 minutes from Mason City - until their relocation to Mason City in 2021, the Amarillo Bulls immediately became a core organization in the North American Hockey League's rapidly-evolving South Division. Playing among a group of former professional hockey markets in facilities that many minor-league teams would envy, the Bulls immediately made their mark on a city that had hosted the sport since 1968.

The Amarillo Bulls would reach the Robertson Cup tournament each of their first three seasons, winning a national championship in 2013 under current Everett Silvertips head coach Dennis Williams. He would lead the team back to the South Division Finals the following year before departing to lead the Bloomington Thunder in the United States Hockey League. After four years out of the playoffs, Williams protege Rocky Russo brought the team back to prominence, tying the team record with 46 regular-season wins in 2018-19 and guiding the team back to the Robertson Cup semifinals.

After four South Division regular season titles, four South Division playoff titles, one NAHL President's Cup regular-season title and one Robertson Cup championships, two storied junior hockey legacies - those of Amarillo and North Iowa - became one upon the team's relocation to Mason City in 2021.