Bulls Gobble Up NA3HL Postseason Awards

Apr 7, 2016


MASON CITY, Iowa – The North Iowa Bulls players and the organization itself gathered up quite the haul with the announcement of the North American Tier 3 Hockey League's awards this week. On Wednesday, Brett Gravelle was named the league's Forward of the Year and Most Valuable Player. He finishes his career with 185 points in NA3HL play, including a league-record 57 goals during the 2015-16 season. The future St. Thomas Tommie also nabbed game-winning goals in three of the team's four Silver Cup tournament games. Adam Orn earned the league's Defenseman of the Year award after re-writing the Bulls defensive record book – his 49 points this season and 70 career points rank atop the North Iowa leaderboard at his position. Tommi Ahlgren was named the league's Goaltender of the Year after a 17-2-2 season that included eight shutouts, a 1.17 goals-against average and a .958 save percentage – all are brand-new NA3HL marks. He will move on to Wisconsin-Stout this season, while Orn shifts to St. John's University in Minnesota.

In addition to those three players (all of whom were named to the NA3HL's First Team), the Bulls and Jets shared the league's Organization of the Year award. In addition to North Iowa's regular-season and Silver Cup playoff championships, the Bulls won the league's attendance title for the fifth straight year, and were the only team in the league to average a home crowd of more than 1,000 fans.

Divisional awards were announced early Thursday. Here are the remainder of the Bulls' award-winners:

  • Austin Jackson – Second-Team All-NA3HL, All-Central Division Team
  • Marshall Barnes – NA3HL All-Rookie First Team, Central Division Rookie of the Year
  • Joe Burgmeier – Central Division Leadership Award